Get more exposure for your business with the new HTML5 flipbooks. Learn more

DEC News_flip_2014-Final

MA Restaurant Assoc


Published on December 3, 2014

DECEMBER 2014 • PAGE 2 Dear Member, Well here we are. I hope everyone enjoyed a great personal and great business Tanksgiving weekend, even with mother nature throwing a little bit o a curveball at us on the day beore the great easts were served, typically a very strong Wednesday. Te calendar has also thrown us another curveball this year, as we have a relatively short window between holiday turkeys, condensing the season. Hopeully that means that we’re going to be straight out in our restaurants between now and the New Year, as this is the time o the year that we celebrate with our existing guests as well as making new riends that we hopeully turn into new regulars. I always go out o my way to emphasize that point to my team especially at this time. I make certain they understand that when we execute awlessly and provide our guests with hospitality and an experience beyond their expectations, that this really is the gi that keeps on giving. Is also time o the year where we have the power to create some great sales in January, February and March through the sales o gi cards. Once again, i we provide our stas with the inormation o “what is in it or them”, then they will go out o their way to help build our business (and theirs!) or the frst quarter o 2015 through the selling o gi cards themselves. Analysis has shown, 80% o holiday gi cards sold are redeemed in the frst quarter o the new year. is the season… as we can make new riends, embrace old riends, and go into 2015 with a great big smile on our aces. I hope everyone has a terrifc holiday business period this month, and that you’re also able to grab some time and enjoy with your amily and riends, whatever holidays you celebrate. Tank you and all o your teams or making 2014 a terrifc year in Massachusetts and here’s to an even better 2015. Cheers! Sincerely, Mansour Ghaliba Chairman o the Board Letter from the Chairman Mansour Ghalibaf MRA Chairman of the Board Massachusetts Restaurant Association Staff Bob Luz President & Chief Executive Ofcer bluz@massrestaurantassoc.org Stephen Clark Director of Government Affairs sclark@massrestaurantassoc.org Christine Johnson Director of Communications cjohnson@massrestaurantassoc.org Lynne Johnston Member Services Manager ljohnston@massrestaurantassoc.org Diana Locke Membership Services Manager dlocke@massrestaurantassoc.org John “Mac” McGrath, Jr. Member Services Manager jmcgrath@massrestaurantassoc.org Kerry Miller Director of Membership Services kmiller@massrestaurantassoc.org Pattie Murphy Director HR & Business Operations pmurphy@massrestaurantassoc.org Stacey Sawyer Director of Education ssawyer@massrestaurantassoc.org Carol A. Walder Secretary cwalder@massrestaurantassoc.org Tracy Zibell Educational Foundation Program Assistant tzibell@massrestaurantassoc.org “ Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love. ” ~Hamilton Wright Mabie WHAT’S INSIDE: Overtime Calculation, Minimum Wage ...............3 New Paid Sick Leave, New MRA Members ........4 ServSafe Classes, ProStart Invitational ..............5 Making the Future Bright for our Industry, 2015 New England Food Show...........................6 MRA Member Profile ............................................7 Honorary Life Member, Operat ion Dine Out.....8