JAN2015News3

January 7, 2015  |  By  | 


 Welcome to 2015! Te weather gods gave us a great gi in December with a relatively mild start to the winter season and no major storms. We can only hope that this continues through January and February and allows us to start o the new year with a real bang on the sales ront. O course, as usual a certain ootball team looks poised to make a good deep run in the playos during the month o January, but I think we all build that into our budgets every year. In Bill and om we trust, go Patriots! What I look orward to most in 2015, is that 2014 is in the rear view mirror and all the legislative noise and governmental disruption is behind us. Last year was one o the most challenging in terms o that stu, more so than any o us have seen in our all o our time in the restaurant industry. Te good news - we think there really is very little le or the government to throw at us at least or the near uture. I am really excited because that means we can get back to ocusing solely on taking care o our stas and collectively exceeding our guests expectations every visit. And those guests are starting to stream through our doors, with all their gi cards in their hands, and we look orward to developing strong relationships with them and bringing them back more and more. Please mark your calendars or March 15-17, 2015, which o course is our annual New England Food Show. We are looking orward to continuing to build upon the momentum in attendance o the last ew years, so i you are a business partner and thinking o exhibiting, don’t hesitate, because space is rapidly flling up and you do not want to be le out. Also, we will once again have our Annual Awards Dinner on Monday, March 16th at Te Renaissance Hotel in Boston, and this year the selection committees are looking or nominations rom all o our members, so please take the time to complete and return those orms! We hope you will attend as this is a great industry night o celebration. Happy New Year to all! Mansour Ghaliba Chairman o the Board Letter from the Chairman Mansour Ghalibaf MRA Chairman of the Board Massachusetts Restaurant Association Staff Bob Luz  bluz@massrestaurantassoc.org Stephen Clark Director of Government Affairs sclark@massrestaurantassoc.org Christine Johnson Director of Communications cjohnson@massrestaurantassoc.org Lynne Johnston Member Services Manager ljohnston@massrestaurantassoc.org Diana Locke Membership Services Manager dlocke@massrestaurantassoc.org John “Mac” McGrath, Jr. Member Services Manager jmcgrath@massrestaurantassoc.org Kerry Miller Director of Membership Services kmiller@massrestaurantassoc.org  Director HR & Business Operations  Stacey Sawyer Director of Education ssawyer@massrestaurantassoc.org Tracy Zibell Educational Foundation Program Assistant tzibell@massrestaurantassoc.org “ Once you replace negative thoughts with positive ones, you’ll start having positive results. ” ~Willie Nelson WHAT’S INSIDE: Current Issues - Current Economic Indicators, 2015 Minimum Wage Update .............................3 MRA Member Profile ............................................4 Education - ServSafe Classes, Creative Resources for Talent .............................5 MRAEF ProStart Instructor Spotlight ..................6 Membership - American Express, Welcome New Members ......................................7 Welcome Renee Serafino, The FICA Tip Credit .............................................8

Page 1 / 5