Published on June 27, 2014
a rich history > The Coopers’ Company and Coborn School is proud of its history. The current School is the amalgamation of two older institutions. ‘Behaviour is outstanding and students are excellent ambassadors for the school.’ Ofsted Report March 2013 The Nicholas Gibson Free School was founded in 1536. In 1552 The Coopers’ Company took oversight of it. It was first in Ratcliffe, a small parish bordering the Thames in Stepney. The School remained there until 1892 when it moved to premises in Tredegar Square in Mile End, where it remained until the move to Upminster. Prisca Coborn, the widow of a brewer, founded a School for both boys and girls in 1701. In 1870 the School moved to the site in Tredegar Square, later to be occupied by the Coopers’ Boys’ School. In 1891 the two Foundations were united. Coopers’ Boys moved to Tredegar Square, Coborn Girls to Bow Road. These two schools were amalgamated and moved to the newly acquired site in Upminster in 1971.