Get more exposure for your business with the new HTML5 flipbooks. Learn more



Published on February 2, 2015

Winter 2015— 2 Congratulations to the schools and teachers who have been chosen as awardees or this year’s Hatching Science grant. Awardees will receive an incubator, brooding equipment, curriculum materials, and enrollment in the Hatching Science workshop in their area. Resources will be distributed at one o ve workshops that will be held in Iron, Cache, Utah, Salt Lake, and Davis counties (see dates below). Please note that awardees must be present at one of these workshops to receive their resources. Workshop Schedule All Utah teachers are invited to join grant awardees at one o the 2015 Hatching Science workshops. Tese workshops are designed to help teachers understand the technical aspects o hatching chicks and will provide relevant, hands-on activities or integrating embryology themes into core science curriculum. Lie cycles, heredity, and animal needs will be addressed. All participants will receive relevant, standards-based classroom materials to complement their study o embryology. A light dinner will be served. Workshops will be held at the ollowing locations: Iron County: Southern Utah University March 4, 2015, 4:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Cache County: Utah State University March 11, 2015, 4:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Utah County: Utah County Extension Ofce March 18, 2015, 4:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Salt Lake County: South Jordan Middle School March 25, 2015, 4:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Davis County: Davis School District Ofce Kendell Bldg. March 26, 2015, 4:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Each workshop is limited to 35 teachers. Register online at Hatching Science Grant Awardees Science Hatching Grant-winning Schools Birch Creek Elementary, Smitheld Bluf Ridge Elementary, Syracuse Century Elementary, Bear River City Copper Canyon Elementary, West Jordan Doxey Elementary, Sunset Elk Meadows, South Jordan Ellison Park Elementary, Layton Farmington Elementary, Farmington Foothill Elementary, Orem Freedom Preparatory Academy, Provo Heritage Elementary, Nibley Hillcrest Elementary, Logan Holbrook Elementary, Bountiul Iron Springs, Cedar City Jordan Ridge, South Jordan Kaysville Elementary, Kaysville Lakeview Elementary, Roy Lincoln Academy, Pleasant Grove Lincoln Elementary, Layton Mana Academy, West Valley City MarLon Hills Elementary, Ogden Midas Creek Elementary, Riverton Mountain Shadows Elementary, West Jordan Mountain View Elementary, Layton Mt. Loaer Elementary, Salem Noah Webster Academy, Orem North Elementary, Cedar City Oakcrest Elementary, West Jordan Oak Hills Elementary, Bountiul Orem Elementary, Orem Park Elementary, Spanish Fork Parowan Elementary, Parowan Reading Elementary, Centerville Riverside Elementary, Washington Riverton Elementary, Riverton Roy Elementary, Roy Saratoga Shores Elementary, Saratoga Springs Snow Springs Elementary, Lehi South Jordan Elementary, South Jordan Suncrest Elementary, Orem Sunrise Elementary, Smitheld Tomas Edison North, Logan Tree Peaks Elementary, Cedar City Utah School or the Dea and Blind at Millcreek Elementary, Salt Lake City Te Waterord School, Sandy West Elementary, ooele Westvale Elementary, West Jordan